Contemplative Christianity

Step #1: “It’s OK to see God differently”

by peter traben haas

I begin in our family name, Your most holy three-fold name: Father, Son and Holy Spirit. Amen.

Here are five ways I began to see God differently on my journey into the contemplative dimension of Christianity. If you are interested in reading more, I’ve written about this first step in further detail in my book The God Who Is Here.

A presupposition: We tend to inherit our initial God-view from our family of origin, early religious education, experiences/practices, worship, or  the culture and religion we are raised in.

Cosmos

My first perception of God was that God lived up in the church nave, where high above the Lord’s Table at the pinnacle of the ceiling there was a door, or what looked like a door to my 5-year-old mind. I remember loving being in the sanctuary of Elm Grove Lutheran Church and looking up at the…

View original post 2,189 more words